10 & 1

Yesterday I did my long run. One of the most successful long runs to date I would have to say. As I said I had 6-7 miles on the schedule but because I didn’t really work out last week I had low expectations and was dreading the pain and suffering that was going to accompany this run. I also secretly wanted to run 7 miles to prove to myself I CAN do it and to keep on track with my training.

Well let me tell you I did 7 miles and when I finished this run I was so freaking proud of myself. Possibly the most proud of myself I have ever been after a training run.

I got the idea to do the 10 and 1 for the run. My fitness is lacking so I thought a 1 minute walk break in between each 10 minutes of running would help to make the run more successful. And it did.

I told myself (I do a lot of talking to myself on my runs) to stick to the 10 and 1s no matter what. I didn’t pay too much attention to pace but rather to just keep running during the 10 minutes. “Earn that one minute walk break.” I lived for that one minute. The first 2 miles were great. Didn’t need the 1 minute but just stuck to the plan as I knew it was going to get tougher. And it did. Toward the end it was dying but I just stuck to the plan and got it did.

Also I had a major head wind of about 65km winds in portions but I pushed through and kept running. I often thought to myself, what if these are the conditions on race day. Then you are prepared.

Anyways I finished 7 miles in 1 hour 21 minutes with an average pace of 11:35. My fastest 7 miler ever! I still can’t believe I maintained that pace for the whole run. I was wondering if my watch doesn’t count the walk breaks in the average pace? Or total time? I have a garmin 10 and had it set to the run/walk mode. Which by the way is amazing because it tells you what to do and when to do it.

My point here, believe in yourself! You CAN do it!!

Now I need to get to the gym to pick up heavy things and put them down. Aka lift weights. Haven’t done that in about 2 weeks. This ought to hurt.

Xo

Leave a Reply

