Recipe: Pumpkin Pie

Every year, for the past 4 years I have been making my pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. I was always at school for Thanksgiving, so I also started making it for Christmas because my family loves my home made baked goods. Well it is still a hit and people are loving it so I thought I would share my recipe, in case you are looking for one. Did I mention I don’t cook well, so it is super easy!

Side story: when I was at school my room mate, who is also my best friend, and I used to make a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. But since neither of us liked cooking we would only make the pie nothing else. Turkey – nahh. Potatoes – don’t really like them. Who needs carrots when we have pumpkin. Anyways we would essentially split it in half and within the course of a few days eat it all. I miss her, and that tradition.

Anyways, the recipe.

Combine the following ingredients in one bowl:

– 15 oz pumpkin
– 3 large eggs
– 1/2 c. heavy whipping cream
– 1 tsp. cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp. ginger
– 1/8 tsp. cloves
– 1/4 tsp. salt

20131013-232123.jpg

Mix and place in 9″ pie crust.

20131013-232109.jpg

Bake at 375 for 50-60 minutes.

Eat.

20131013-232134.jpg

But here is how I do it. Buy a massive can of pumpkin, about 1 L, because Ma says its ‘cheaper’ – so guess about half a can and dump it in hoping it won’t be too pumpkiny. But don’t worry about it because it is called PUMPKIN pie. Add the eggs, heavy cream and a few too many dashes of cinnamon. After searching for 10 mins remembering we don’t have cloves or ginger, and didn’t last year either. Throw in some pumpkin pie spice and a few sprinkes of salt and call it a pie. Throw it in the over for 50 minutes and pray for the best.

Try not to burn it.

Eat.

20131013-231839.jpg

If you’re really fancy you could even grow your own pumpkin, too. Oh and this year I used a store bought pie crust, graham cracker, but we usually just smash up some graham crackers and mix with butter for the crust. Whatever works for ya!

I also usually make whipped cream for it as well. So just whip the left over cream you have from the pie and add a little vanilla to it – amazing. I also didn’t do that this year. It appears I am really slacking in my old age.

As you can see the pie wasn’t exact and still turned out amazing. I Love it. It is not too sweet but really creamy. Try it, really, you will love it!

Happy pumpkin’ing!

20131013-231709.jpg

Note: the original recipe is from a website, but I don’t know which one because I got it a few years ago. Likely allrecipes.com or the first recipe that pops up on GoogleJust thought I would mention that incase you think I stole your recipe, I didn’t. Remember I don’t cook well. 

Leave a Reply

