CIBC Run For The Cure

On Sunday October 6, I ran the CIBC Run for the Cure 5K race.

This year they had a chip time option, pay $5 and you get that chip time. Which I did.

My Aunt was diagnosed with Breast Cancer last year, and has beat it! We are all so proud of her and to show my support I was going to run this race again. But a few months back I decided to put a team together, in hope that a few of my family members would be interested in joining.

250

My Beautiful Aunt!

Well, 3 months later we had 17 team members, and raised over $4500!!

248

 

The day was a great success. It was raining a bit, but that did not get our spirits down! My Mom, sister and brother’s girlfriend all did it as well.

I was the only person who ran the race, everyone else walked it. I was totally fine with this, I was here for a reason and it was to run hard. And hard I ran.

20131006-145733.jpg

I couldn’t get into the start area at the beginning which was frustrating because timed runners were suppose to go to the front to start. Once people started moving I hoped in and started to run. I dodged around people to try and get ahead a bit, but knew I was starting way to fast.

20131006-150711.jpg

Mile 1: 944

I was feeling pretty good, some minimal pain in my right calf but felt good. I wanted to push hard but knew that if I was going to be able to run the whole thing I needed to slow down.

Mile 2: 10:19

I started getting tired but only had one mile left. I just kept pushing, thinking about how proud I would feel of myself if I ran the whole thing. I saw my cousin and my other cousin’s wife and kept trotting along.

Mile 3: 10:34

Almost at the finish line, just a few more turns..I can see it

Mile .1: 14 seconds

263

Total distance: 3.1 miles

Time: 30:48

Average pace: 10:11 min/mile

20131006-145747.jpg

So clearly I need to work on pacing, and not positively splitting – haha. I am happy with the run though, but can’t help but wish I had just run 49 seconds faster to get my sub 30-5K. Next time, next time.

20131004-105250.jpg

The team did great, I grabbed a water and cheered them on as they trickled in at different times. My sister and bro’s girlfriend walked together and finished in 50 minutes. And my Mom and friend walked together and finished in 55 minutes – which is good considering my mom was working all night and had been up for 24 hours. The rest of the group came in at about 1:09 – which is pretty amazing considering my aunt was just diagnosed with cancer a little over a year ago.

266

So proud of everyone involved and thankful to everyone who donated!

258

Leave a Reply

