A Birthday Run-down

Just got home from the gym, took Group Power and wah did the weights feel heaavvvy today. Usually on Thursdays things do feel a bit heavy for me haha. In Tuesday’s class I remember thinking, wow this feels light I should up my weight. Spoke too soon. I was/am also still sore from Tuesdays class.

Upon arriving home from the gym I had a piece of cake, at 11am, not on my birthday. Do I feel guilty? Sure I did a little for a second, and then I stopped. It is a small piece of cake, not the end of the world. I’ll enjoy it and continue on with my day eating a healthy lunch.

Said cake…

20130926-110452.jpg

I am kind of a brat when it comes to cake. I have always hated processed food, but more recently really started to stay away from them. I feel better physically and mentally. If I want to eat junk food, great but lets just eat wholesome ingredients. So a cake with sugar, sugar, chocolate, flour, sugar. icing, sugar. Make sense? I usually bake my own cakes from scratch. Anyways, this is obviously a store bought cake and it was pretty good! The icing was reals sweet and chocolately and filled with chemicals and I loved every bite! haha

Let me recap yesterday in mostly pictures, and tell you about my run. It was a good one!!

I didn’t do my long run from last weekend and thought that would be the prefect birthday gift to myself! Weird, maybe? So my inital plan was 10 miles/16km. Then when I was heading to the park I was going to run at, I was sort of tired so I said at least 6 miles/10km.

20130926-110902.jpg

The run was great. I did 6.2 miles or a full 10K. I ran the full first 3 miles – wooohooo!!! – and then walked a full mile. I went up a road I often drive and always think I should run. It is one big hill. So I walked, no shame. Then I ran the last few miles stopping for a walk break between each mile.

20130926-110931.jpg

Take a look at these splits people!

Mile 1: 10:33
Mile 2: 10:23
Mile 3: 10:38
Mile 4: 17:23 – walked
Mile 5: 10:35
Mile 6: 10:28
Mile 6.2: 2:14

Total Distance: 6.21 miles
Total Time: 1:12:14
Average Mile Pace: 11:38

It was a great workout! If I had just not walked that whole mile and run it, then it would have been my fastest 10K. Next time! I think I am going to make this a regualr Wednesday workout if I can get a car to go to the park. It was nice to run somewhere different and pretty – part of the path goes right along the Thames River.

Post run…

20130926-110601.jpg

Took myself out for lunch to my favourite sandwich place! So big, so good!

Then I worked, and came home at 9pm and had a piece of said cake above. I didn’t know if my parents were going to do that last night but my dad loves cake as much as I do so he made sure it happened. Good day!!

******************************************

On Sunday we celebrated my birthday at my moms. There was cake….

20130922-202023.jpg

It looks better than it was, sadly!

We went to the demolition derby!!!

20130922-201809.jpg

The vans were the best to watch. So funny!!

Any my brothers girlfriend made me cake pops, that look like acorns!

20130922-201901.jpg

It is a running joke at my house, that I am a squirrel – long story. Anyways they were so cute, and tasted amazing!!

20130922-201916.jpg

It was a great last couple of birthday-days. Odd being home for my birthday, first time since I was 17. Another odd thing was being sober on my birthday, first time since I was 17 haha. All I really wanted yesterday was a caesar, so hopefully this weekend we can make that happen. 
20130922-202117.jpg

Do you like birthday’s? 

I love celebrating other people’s birthdays, and making sure they have a really fun, great day!

Leave a Reply

