Detroit Free Press Half Marathon Training: Week 16

Hi! How was your weekend? Mine was pretty good, I’m drafting up a quick little post about it because we celebrated my Birthday – twas fun. Lots of not so great food was consumed yesterday and I woke up feeling rough this morning. More of a reason to get back on track today!!

20130922-201916.jpg

Let’s do a quick recap of last weeks training!

Monday – 45 min spin + 10 mile run 

Pretty decent long run. Check out the post for details. What I didn’t know is that I was getting sick, and I paid for this the rest of the week – and still am!

20130916-190628.jpg

Tuesday – Group Power

The standard 60 min class.

Wednesday – 2 mile run, 1 mile walk, 10 min rower

Hopped on the treadmill for 5 miles, but just wasn’t feeling it. The cold was really starting to kick in by this point. Ran, without breaks, 2 miles with some hills. Took a walk break with intentions to do all 5 miles and never started running again. Funny how that happens to me.

Thursday – 30 min arch trainer, 30 min bike

My plans were changed last minute and I couldn’t get to the weights class that I was going to. I wanted to skip my workout altogether but instead I went for some afternoon cardio. I wasn’t to impressed during the workout but after I remember walking out of the gym thinking – I’m glad I just did that!

Friday – Circuit

Great class, par usual! Love it!!

Saturday – Rest

Just feeling horrible. Went to the farmers market in the morning with my mom and spent the afternoon in my bed watching Pretty Little Liars and napping for 2 hours.

20130915-163942.jpg

Sunday – 2 mile run + core

Thought I was feeling better so headed out for my long run, 10-11 miles. Wore a tank top because the weather said it was 11C and was freezing cold. Went home after 2 miles to grab a long sleeve and never made it back out. I was tired, had no energy and just felt horrible. I also just didn’t have it in me to run 8 more miles. So I skipped the run. Super disappointed.

20130807-144141.jpg

Miles Run: 14

Not super happy with my training this week. Again as I said the other day I wish I could just start over and actually train properly for this race. Oh well, live and learn.

**********************************

Week 17 Plan

I am trying to figure out if and when to do my long run from last week, this week and then when to do this weeks. Here is what I have come up with.

M – 45 min spin + core (check!); 3 mile run
T – Group Power + 30 min XT
W – 10 mile long run
Th – Group Power + 30 min XT
F – Circuit + 3 mile run
Sa – Rest or 45 min elliptical
Su – 11 mile long run

I really want to get in last weeks long run. I was planning to do it today but I am still not really feeling that much better. But I need to get running more. I have the CIBC Run for the Cure coming up and want to RUN the whole thing, no walking so I need to get back to running the whole 3.1 miles. I wanted that race to be my goal sub 30 min PR but that doesn’t look like it is in the cards right now. Another race my friends, another race.

Leave a Reply

