I Wish I Was The Kind of Person..

…who follows a training plan. I don’t. I can’t. It is like there is something in me that will not allow me to follow one.

There are tones online, in magazines and even apps! But I just can’t do it. I even bought a book for goodness sakes…

20130605-104118.jpg

I think that it is bad luck or something. Weird I know. Or the plan doesn’t fit exactly how I want my days to go – ie. Long run on Sundays, and I do mine Saturdays usually. Instead of moving things around to fit what works for me, I don’t do anything at all.

I have a problem where as soon as I have to do something (ie. run 5×400 on Tuesday) I don’t want to do it. I really don’t like when people tell me what to do, I like to do things myself. But I also listen to people and can respect their opinions.

20130822-111422.jpg

I do make a tentative weekly workout plan, I don’t completely wing it every day. I have a workout journal that I write it. On Sunday nights I write what I will do each day, and highlight it. Under I leave room to come back and record what I actually did each day. Helps me keep track of things like miles, weight training, weight, aches and pains, etc. I also usually set a goal for each week, and most weeks it does not get achieved, but it is something I am mindful of.

20130918-120208.jpg

I guess what I am getting at here is that I wish I followed a training plan for my half marathon. I am just winging everything. Sure I know a fair bit about running, and I know what works best for my body, but I have never run a half marathon so I wish I had followed something more closely.

But you know what? I’m loving this whole distance running thing, and I can almost guarantee that I’ll be running a spring half marathon, so hopefully when I start training for that I can commit to a plan and train properly.

Leave a Reply

