Bike, Run, Swim?

Hello and Happy Wednesday! I am so thankful for a new day, yesterday was not my best. It was rough, really rough, but instead of dwelling on it and beating myself up about the amount of cookies consumed, and inexistent workout I am choosing to make good choices today and move forward πŸ™‚ We all have set backs, mine are more often than other people’s may be, but I truly think it is how we handle them and move forward that shows mental strength. I felt and looked like crap this morning, and it would have been too easy to come home after work and snack on crap processed food. Instead I chose to get my butt to the gym, which is what I am here to talk to you about πŸ™‚

Back On Pointe. awesome

Hahahah!! YES!

We are currently in a heat wave right now(40C/104F with crazy humidity) and so running outside is a no go. I had my alarm set for 5:10am this morning but opted for more sleep. With this new job I have, I have to get up at 6AM daily – yawn! This means in bed by 10pm – I am a baby when it comes to sleep, it is so darn important! Anyways, I skipped my run so that meant that it wouldn’t get done until later, which meant it would be on the treadmill because it is too darn hot out!

There is a spin class right after I am done work, so I hurried over to the gym to take the class. This is my second spin class this week and WAH they are hard! Wow, after taking a few months off of regular spinning I have lost a lot of fitness. 45 minutes and I am dying! After the class we always do 10-15 minutes of core, and I always try and stay because I need to work on my core and this forces me to do it πŸ™‚

I really wanted to try and get all of my runs in this week so after spin I headed down to the treadmills for some speed work. I did quarter mile warm up (since my legs were already warm :), and then 4×400 at 8:57 min/mile (6.7mph). This pace is pretty fast for me. Today I actually wasn’t very tired. Sure the sprints were hard but they were not as hard as they usually are. This is good πŸ™‚ Side note: I am walking the quarter mile recovery right now.

Now for the swim? Well I was swimming in sweat when I was done all of that πŸ˜‰

This afternoon I am going to spend some time with my yoga mat stretching, foam rolling and icing while I watch some Pretty Little Liars <— I am hoping that by admitting that here I will do it πŸ™‚

I hope you have a GREAT Wednesday πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Bike, Run, Swim?

  1. emskiruns September 11, 2013 at 12:40 PM Reply

    Well done you on getting it all in and not skipping the running – I need to get back to running now the foot is feeling a bit better so am going to try for an early one tomorrow – need it to destress from this working week – work drama is getting too much!

    Get that yoga mat out Mrs and get foam rolling – I was told I now have to do mine every night that’s going to be a chore!

    x

    • Nicole September 13, 2013 at 12:14 PM Reply

      Running is the best mind clearer, hope you fit it into your day – worth it! Thanks for the encouragement, I got the stretching & yoga done!!

Leave a Reply

