A Wordy Wednesday

Good Morning, and happy hump day! Hope you celebrate accordingly 😉 <– don’t I say that every week? lame!

Today is also National Running day, go get your sweat on!

I have been busy! Volunteering, working, hanging out with family, eating cookies….lots and lots of cookies. Blah

Yesterday I got up before going to my old Kindergarten class for the day, and went to the gym. Kinda. I needed to run a 5K and was dreading doing it on the treadmill, I honestly hate and suck at treadmill running. It is boring and I just give up and never end up finishing the workout. So I headed upstairs at about 5:55am and saw that it was light out, like light enough to run safety. So I did my 5K outside at 6am, it was amazing!! I even ran without music, AND I RAN the whole thing, no walk breaks! Also, according to the Nike+ app on my iPod I ran a 5K in a little over 27 minutes. HAHA! I now know that the app is not accurate. There is no way I ran a 5K that fast, it actually just makes me laugh haha. Anyways, it was a good run! And I love running that early because I’m not fully awake until half way through and it just makes the run easier 🙂 After I headed to the gym and did 20 minutes on the elliptical and a nice stretch.

My legs and knees have been acting really weird and have been sore the past few days. I’m not loving this. Always within days of starting to train for something I get injured. I have also been doing a fair bit of cardio in order to counteract with my shitty diet. This has to stop! I need to workout normally and not get an overuse injury because I’m being dumb. Make better choices in the kitchen and not get injured.

I feel like I have lost motivation, I need something to drive me, something to get a fire under my butt and get it in gear. Well, I have a ‘coffee date’ next week and thought that might help me to get back on track, but you know what, its not! I realized that I need to want to make healthier choices, it comes from within. Nothing can make me want to do it. I mean I already knew this, but it is a good reinforcement I guess. No one is forcing me to do anything, I am making these choices for myself. I guess it is just hard when there is junk food in the house all of the time.

Some things I know that work for me: no grains for dinner, lots of protein, don’t deprive sweets, snacking in the afternoon is bad so keep busy, no eating after 7pm. It worked for me at school, and now I just need to get back to it.

I need to make the decision to do what is best for me. And with that, I am off to spin class!

Why do you run?

I run…for the high!

Leave a Reply

