I Missed It + A Lesson

Good Morning!!

It is Thursday, which means it is almost the weekend, and here in Canada its a long weekend – woohoo!!

Yesterday was a busy day!

My alarm went off at 5:30am for a workout – well my body was saying no so I slept in. Not a great choice, and you will see why in a second.

I headed off to volunteer at an elementary school my cousin is the Vice Principal at. What a great day! I miss teaching and being in the classroom so so much! It was so awesome to be back in that environment! My cousin put me in a grade 2 classroom, and the teacher was amazing! She was just so kind and loving, but also stern and got things done. The perfect balance for a primary teacher!

20130323-084419.jpg

I spent the day in grade two helping them learn about passage of time, and let me tell you it was no easy! Wow, as the teacher said, they are too young to be learning about passage of time. When I was working with them one on one and really coaching them along, they seemed to get it, but when they were on their own it was a dear in the headlights kinda thing.

I don’t have a lot to teaching experience in grade two, except for a little bit I did in a 2/3 classroom in Thunder Bay, so it is nice to be exposed to the curriculum and developmental level of the kids. I am hoping to move around to a few other classrooms too and see how things work in their because all teachers are so different!

After school my cousin told me what to do and how to prepare to try and get on the supply list. He is such a fountain of wealth in terms of information. All in all it was a great day! I LOVE teaching 🙂

Right after school I sped down the highway and made the 35 minute drive to London to get in a quick workout. I did 20 minutes on the stair master, and 20 on the arch trainer and then raced off to work, sweaty and all. It wasn’t pretty but it was my only option. Time was tight, but I managed to get everything in. Except one thing, which really caused a problem when I got home.

20130324-133147.jpg

You see I didn’t eat enough throughout the day. When I finally got home at 8pm I was ravenous! Because I neglected to eat a dinner I was so hungry when I got home. When I get this hungry I eat too much, naturally, to fill the pains. My Mom also had these delicious fresh baked out of the oven banana muffins, and fresh baked cookies. Both were consumed plus other things.

I do this all the time, and I think I have finally learned my lesson. I need to eat more throughout the day so I don’t come home and dominate the kitchen.

Today I have a 3.1 mile run in the 9’s, weights, and a bike ride planned. Along with other little chores, like fixing up my resume and working!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

