To 10K or 5K??

Happy Friday!!!!

Its the weekend, and race weekend for me!! Ekkkkkk.

Today I took a rest day to be sure I had fresh legs for my race tomorrow. Let’t talk about this race.

Back in January, I think, I signed up for the Mississauga Half Marathon. I was able to run 5 miles comfortably at that time, and figured with 3 months to train I was golden and would be ready to run my first half marathon. Awesome!

548326_3587024047975_1644510043_2762604_614740969_n[1]

Sarah and I at the finish of the Mississauga 5K last year

Then I got injured, a few times, which set my running back considerably. I got shin splints because I delayed getting new shoes for too long. Then I blew my knee out and was unable to walk, never mind run, for some time. I have only been running again since April. This is not enough time to train for a half marathon.

This is a very disappointing thing for me to deal with. I just want to run a half marathon already, but my legs keep setting me back. On a side note I am starting Physio therapy on Wednesday to try and fix this problem for good. Anyways, my training was not ideal and I know I am unable to run it.

16432-110-15837559[1]

Part of the 5K course, absolutely beautiful!

Ok, so whats the next best thing? They also have a 10K and a 5K. After last weekend’s 10K where I crashed and burned like a good summer fire, I am nervous about trying to run another 10K this soon. I want to run it but I don’t, if that makes any sense. On the other hand I could run the 5K and try for a PR, which may or may not happen. My current 5K PR is 30:15, so I would need to run 9:30 min/miles to achieve a sub 30 minute 5K. I haven’t really been training at all, so I’m not sure this is even possible. I know that if I tried for the 5K PR and missed it I would be pretty upset with myself.

At this point I have not decided what I want to do. The 10K or the 5K. I will probably go for the 10 simply because it will be a better workout, haha. I don’t think this course is as hilly as the one last weekend so my time should be a bit better. I am also going to try and go out slower (!!!) so I can run for longer. Running 3 miles @ 10:30 is better than what happened last weekend.

Last year I ran the 5K, with my sister!!, and the course is beautiful. For some of it your running along the water and it is just wonderful. The course also goes through a residential area with amazing houses and lots of fan support.

16432-110-15837604[1]

My family is also busy, along with all of my friends, so I will also be rocking this race alone. From my house it is about a 3.5 hour drive, so it will be a solo day. I need a way to carry my phone with me while I run but haven’t come up with anything yet. Any ideas?

Doing anything fun this weekend? Hope you have a good one!!

What do you think, should I run the 10 or 5K??

– N

Leave a Reply

