Forest City Road Race 10K Recap

Yesterday I ran the Forest City Road Race 10KM race. First I want to say the race was awesome! Well organized, on time, great volunteers, course was clearly marked A+++!!

Last year I ran the 5K and loved it, so this year I thought I would try to 10. Going into training I felt good, then I got injured and was on the side lines for a while. I haven’t mentioned it much here but my legs still bug me sometimes, which is a great deterrent from a lot of running.

Forest City 5k 032

Anyways. my training for the race was less than stellar. Last Sunday I did a 10K training run and felt pretty good about it.

 

I was nervous but didn’t feel too bad going into the run. I was a bit nervous, simply because of the distance alone and because I always get nervous before races, but felt alright. I knew going in that I was going to walk run it, but was hoping to beat my time from the previous weekend of 1:07:53.

Well, I crashed and burned hard! It was bad!

Stats

Chip time: 1:12:06
Garmin time: 1:12:12 (6.29 miles)
Average pace: 11:29 min/mile
Garmin splits: 9:19, 10:18, 11:41, 11:40, 12:41, 13:09, 3:21

011

Now lets start from the beginning. I woke up and ate my race morning breakfast, english muffin with peanut butter and coffee. I was getting some heart burn so I took some Tums. I have noticed that I get heart burn before races and I’m thinking maybe it is from nerves? We drove to the race and hung out for a bit.

20130429-131252.jpg

 

Note from my Ma, she is the best! She couldn’t make it to the race because she had to work.

012

The race started on time and we were off. Standing at the start line I had a bad feeling. The heart burn was getting worse and very uncomfortable, my leg was really starting to hurt, and I was HOT!! I overdressed for this race, something I never do. I’m the queen for underdressing because I get so hot when I run. So things started off on the wrong foot.

015

Can you see me?! Haha There were quite a few people running the 10K. The race is growing, which is awesome!!

016

I ran for first mile way too fast!! 9:19 minute/mile. My plan was to run the first 2-3 miles and then walk/run the rest. Well that plan fell apart about 1.5 miles in. I was tired and started my walk breaks at that point. I was trying to keep my walk breaks to 1 minute but that plan also went out the window.

20130429-131259.jpg

At about mile 2 I wanted to call for a ride to come pick me up. I took my phone with me just in case I got hurt (because of my legs and I have been known to trip and fall and hurt myself while running) and I wanted to use it. In hindsight I don’t know if taking my phone is such a good thing, but I’ll talk about that in another post.

Anyways, it was hard. The course had a few hills in it that I wasn’t ready for. The small town I live in is flat as a pancake and I didn’t even take hill training into consideration, live and learn. I was a hurtin’ unit out there. The race kicked my butt!!

024

At about the 8K mark the ‘slow’ pack was getting further and further away from me. I told myself ‘you better hurry up or your going to be last’ and lets just say there were only about 80 people behind me.

Other thoughts going though my head during the race included: I’m never running again, similarly to I’m never drinking again; Hurry the f**k up; I hate running; This is suppose to be FUN; There is nothing fun about this; I need a new hobby; STOP WALKING; WTF another hill; Start running when you get to X, ok get running!

022

As you can see it wasn’t very positive self talk, which is something else I need to work on. I know that I can run a 10K, I just need to train more. I am very disappointed in how things turned out yesterday, but in the end it is not the end of the world. There will be another race to try again, such as Mississauga on Saturday 😉

My cousins wife and I just after I crossed the finish line – lookin’ nasty!

– N

Leave a Reply

