Healthy Snacks

Good morning and Happy Hump Day!

Today is also the first day of Lent, you giving anything up?

If you are anything like me, you love to snack! I have often referred to myself as a snack monster. I would rather just eat snacks than a meal most days. I just love to snack, and it has gotten me into some trouble. You see a lot of snacks are unhealthy, and high calorie = weight gain. Blah!

But, we are all trying to do better and eat healthier, so I thought it would be fun to talk about healthy snacks today!

There are the obvious fruits and veggies, but sometime ya just need a little something different. Me personally I try not to keep a wide variety of snacks in the house, maybe 1-2 different things at a time because the more variety, the more I want to snack. Right now I have small cups of Greek Yogurt, pumpkin seeds, did have dark chocolate until I ate the rest of it yesterday, and Chocolate Caramel Rice cakes.

Healthy Snacks

Greek yogurt: packed with flavour and protein, guaranteed to keep you full – try the PC Lemon, it tastes like lemon pie, so good!!

Nuts & Seeds: I love almonds, peanuts, and pumpkin seeds right now, but just be careful because they are high calorie! Trailmix is also great, but dried fruit is high in sugar and calorie so be careful! Portion is everything!!

Popcorn: I pop it in a pot, or in my air popper at home. Popcorn is a great source of fiber and keeps ya full!! Don’t load it up with butter and salt though.

Dark Chocolate: A square a day keeps the doctor away? Maybe! Having one square of dark chocolate a day may help to keep your cravings and diet in check! Lindt has great flavours, and each square is about 50 cal. This mint one is one of my favourites!

Rice Chips/Cakes: You like eating salty chips/sweet cakes, have a rice chip! I love these! They satisfy my cravings, are low cal and don’t make me feel all yucky and greesy. My favourite are the dill pickle and the Sweet Chili you must try, and a staple in my house is the Chocolate Caramel. Yum!

 

What are some of your favourite healthy snacks?

-N

Leave a Reply

