4.5

Today I just needed to run. I needed it.

My leg is still injured, and very sore. I thought it was maybe starting to get better? But who knows now.

Without running I go mentally crazy. I am just not as happy, confident, positive, and my head just seems fuzzy. Weird, I realize this. Running is a sort of therapy for me.

Today I was feeling emotionally crazy – does this make sense? – and just needed a run to sort my feelings, emotions and thoughts out. But my leg was still killing me. Well, today I made a bad runner choice, I went for a run. And it was great.

I set out on my 5 mile loop, and put on my ‘5 miler’ playlist on my iPod. My let started hurting immediately, but my mind started to clear. The first 2.5 miles I ran hard. My frustrations and emotions were built up hard and running hard was the only way to release them. I got lots in my thoughts and sorted things out. It was just what I needed.

This loop is hilly! So, I simply walked up the hills, no big deal. I completed the 4.5 miles in 47 minutes and was happy with that, considering the conditions. The weather was nice, but the side walks were still covered in snow and hard to run on.

I am feeling much better now mentally, for the most part, and the run just completely cleared my head. Funny how that works for me. I can talk, write, draw, text, listen to music, blah blah, blah, about a problem but nothing can fix it like a good run.

I’m off to get ready to go out with some friends for the night, have a good one 🙂

Does running feel like therapy for you sometimes?

xo

-N

Leave a Reply

