Self-Sabotage

Workout: 2.5 mile run (speed workout), 30 min stair master

This morning I woke up early to get to the gym before class, and guess what? I didn’t get there, well until after class. You see, I like to get my workouts done and over with in the morning, its how I like to start my day, if I can. This morning it just wasn’t happening. So instead I dragged my butt to the gym after class. Its always so hard to go after class because #1 its a loooooong walk, #2 I’m tired, #3 I’m lazy. Enough said, haha.

Anyways, on my walk to the gym I was thinking about my run today. On my, made up, schedule was a 3 mile speed run. Ok cool, but what does this mean? Well, since I am not training for anything right now, or following a training plan, cough*throw that 10k out the window*cough, I needed to come up with something that would keep me entertained on the treadmill. So, I told myself I’ll run 3 miles in under 30 mins. Perfectly doable.

Well as you can see in the above stated workout, 3 miles just did not happen. The run was going really well! It was tough but it was a speed session so it was going to be tough! I was just trying to keep my mph above 6.1 (a 9:50 pace). I ran for a while at 6.3, then back down to 6.1 for a short rest, and then I got the genius  or maybe not so much, idea to do some sprints. I was doing .25 mile sprint at 6.7 (9:10 pace I think) and then going back down to 6.1 for about 30 seconds and then back up. Well it might not have been the smartest thing to do. I got tired and gave up at 2.5 miles.

Here is where the self-sabotage comes into play, I could have finished the run no problem, just go back to 6.1 for the half mile, but the mental stress of the run got to me and I quit. That hurts to say. I find that I am not a very mentally tough runner. My body can do it, I just have to put my mind to rest and let my legs do the work.

I also find the self-sabotage in my weight. When I am almost at a certain wight milestone, like earning myself a reward (which I’ll talk about in an upcoming post) I mess it up and eat crap and gain a little weight.

Why do I do this? Well that is something I need to try and figure out. Because its not helpful or healthy. I need a strong body, strong mind.

But, with one of my goals this year, I am going to try and not be so hard on myself. No I’m not going to make excuses for why I self-sabotage, but I am not going to beat myself down about not finishing my run. Sure I would have felt great about myself if I finished, but more of a reason to finish my next speed workout 🙂

After all, in the grand scheme of things, 1/2 a mile isn’t going to make or break me, right?

I tell myself that quote, with variations, almost daily, its helpful!

So tell me, how do you get through mentally tough workouts? Mantras? Zone out? 

– N

I saw this and thought it was funny and so true…a little humour please…

Leave a Reply

