A Confidence Boost

Yesterday during my run I was wearing a cotton long sleeved shirt, with a tank under. Now, I was getting really sweating while running, like my shirt was soaked. I don’t usually wear cotton when I workout but I had just come from my gym class and was already dressed (had a sports bra on) and didn’t feel like changing. Alas I wore the long sleeve for my workout. If you want to know I was wearing the Lululemon Cool Racerback in black under. I love the tank but find it a bit big. I need a new one in a smaller size 😉

As I said, I was getting very hot and still had 30 mins on the stair master to complete. About 10 mins into the SM I made a decision to take my shirt off. Ok, here is the thing. I workout at my University gym and there are cute men, skinny girls with great figures, and judgy eyes everywhere. I am the kind of girl who wears normal workout clothes, usually t-shirts that might have a slight v-neck. Nothing racy!

Nonetheless, I took my long sleeve off, revealing my tank. I am pretty self-conscious about tight clothes at the gym. There is nothing to hide under, no big shirt to cover up all the lumps and bumps of my insecurities. And you know what? It wasn’t even all that bad. Sure I was self-conscious but it wasn’t terrible. Some of the men were looking my way. 😉

Now I know I have a lot of work to do, but I need to be more proud of what I have accomplished. I’ve lost about 18 lbs since September 2012 and I need to embrace that. Wearing just my tank, and my bright pink sports bra, gave me a slight confidence boost. I likely won’t be doing it again any time soon, but just having the courage to take my shirt off was a big deal for me.

********

My workout for today hasn’t happened yet, I’m headed to the gym in about 45 minutes. I’m thinking 20 min stair master, weights, and 20 minutes bike sounds good, in a T-shirt of course haha.

It got really cold here again last night, and I’m hating it.

Whats the weather like in your neck of the woods?

– N

Leave a Reply

