What a Flop

I’m off to run our local 5K Santa Shuffle, which started as a road race and was changed to a track race. So instead of running through the streets of London seeing different things, enjoying my time on the route, I will be running 7 laps around the half-mile track. Joy.To.The.World. Can you sense my excitement? Nah, me either. I don’t like how it was switched to a track race, I HATE track running. Anyways, it will be fun, I’ll come back and let you know if I complete all 7 laps. I’m one of those people who would rather run a road race and not know where the end is, than run 7 laps. I become unmotivated quickly. At lease there is a Santa metal at the finish. Or there better be haha.

But I digress. I came here to talk about my Paleo challenge. Well it was a big ‘ol flop. Womp. womp. I started off yesterday with good intentions. Had a egg, turkey bacon and a grapefruit for breakfast, and a coffee with milk. Lunch was a salad, apple. Drive home snack was nuts. Doing well right?

Well by the time I got home, I was starving! The first thing I saw were those deathly peanut butter pretzels, had 8. Then I had a 90 calorie pack of chocolate covered blueberries. or 2. Dinner was a burger patty (skipped the bun), salad, and a few french fries. Not too bad. oh and some ketchup. Then I had some snacks with my nephew, we had some candy. Not Paleo.

   

This morning I had a small bowl of oats with chocolate protein powder and milk, and am sipping on a coffee with milk. All of which not paleo. So here’s the thing, I gave up. clearly. I could make excuses, but  why? It doesn’t matter really. I’m not really all that disappointed in myself. I’m more concerned about the amount of junk I’m eating. So here is what I’m going to do.

Cut back on sugar. This is the big one! I just need to get rid of it! My God its horrible. I just have to say no. I am going to get some dark chocolate and have a square every day, as I have in the past, and see how it goes.

Sure I love carbs, but there are days when I won’t eat carbs at all. Oatmeal is a staple in my breakfast rotation. I love it, its easy, and I don’t overeat it. I almost always use my 1/3 cup as a scoop, which is only 110 calories. Oats are healthy and fill me up, so I’m not going to stop eating them.

I am going to try to eat Paleo, but not completly cut whole food groups from my diet. For me this is rediculous and unrealistic. As soon as I say I can’t have something, I want it more. Alas return of the greek yogurt, cheese sticks and english muffins. Couldn’t be more happy.

So my Paleo stunt was a fail, but I am still going to loosely stick to it. Cut down on sugar, carbs and dairy. Amp up my fruits and veggies. Reasonable. Realistic.

Who, that got lengthly!

I’m off to Shuffle with Santa.

Ho, ho, ho……

Leave a Reply

